New Content Sections are created in the first screen display accessed through the Section Manager. Ordering, Link Menu, and Existing Menu Links become editable when the new Section is first saved either by clicking the Apply or Save icons.
Existing Content Sections are editable in the second screen display accessed through the Section Manager. All available fields are now editable.
Apply: Click Apply to save any changes made so far in the current session, but remain in the Edit Section screen to continue editing. If the current action was creating a new Section it will now have been saved, and will appear on the Section Manager list. In addition, the current session now becomes an Edit action rather than the New action it was previously. Once the editing session is complete click Save as above.
Cancel: Clicking Cancel at any point ends the current creation session and returns the display to the Section Manager screen. Any changes made since the session commenced, or the Apply icon was last clicked, will be lost. If this was a session to create a new Section, it will not have been created.
Help: Click the Help icon at any time to view this Help Screen.
Scope: This identifies the type of Section that is being created. Principally this will be content.
Title: A short descriptive name for the Section. This will be used in pathways, for example.
Section Name: A longer descriptive name for the Section. This will be used in Section headings, for example, when set to be displayed.
Ordering: Control where this Section will appear in the Section Manager listing in the Back-end, and its position (and as a consequence its Categories and Content Items) in any Menu Item display page in the Front-end. Select this position from the drop-down display of current Sections contained in the Section Manager.
NOTE: By default the new Section is placed at the top of the Section Manager list. Its position can be changed once a New Section has been saved for the first time. The resulting drop down box displays all Sections in the Section Manager whether they are published or not.
Image: Select an image that will be displayed, alongside the Section Title, in any display page where the image is set to be shown. Additional images can be uploaded via the Toolbar Upload icon above. Images are, by default, stored in the root /images/ directory. If an image is selected the default Global setting for Show Image is set to Show. This can be overridden within individual Menu Items, for example.
Image Position: If an image has been selected for display in the previous field, it is possible to set where it will be located at the top of the page…to the Left side, Right side, or in the Center. The position for the image selected here becomes the default Global setting for all Section Images. This can be overridden within individual Menu Items, for example.
Image Preview: Although not specifically labelled, this field is represented by the empty, frame on a New Section screen. Once an image has been selected above, a preview of that image will be shown here.
Access Level: Define which of the three document Access Levels applies to this Menu Item. Select from Public, Registered, or Special.
Published: Select Yes (the default setting) to Publish this Section. This will display the Section Name, as entered above, in the Section Manager.
Description:The open text editor area of the screen permits a description of the Section to be created. This will, by default, be published along with the other settings above, however the Menu Items have the option to not show this information. The text editor adopts the default or User set choice of WYSIWYG editor or No WYSIWYG editor.